raspberrycake2

Sunday means baking. And laundry. But more enjoyably, baking.

This is a simple, sweet cake to take you into the week. This particular week is my last before a week of vacation, so it’s extra sweet. Deb from Smitten Kitchen (where I found the recipe, although it is originally from Gourmet…what a tangled web we weave) calls this an “everyday cake”. And it’s true — this cake came together very quickly, with minimal ingredients. The texture of the batter as it goes into the pan is divine. It was so light, fluffy, and extremely glossy. As I was smoothing it into the pan I was imagining what kind of crumb a batter like that would produce and I was right. Soft, super moist, and light. This is an awesome summer dessert, when the berries are fresh and juicy.

The only modifications I made were to sub almond extract for vanilla, and I omitted the lemon zest. I also baked mine in an 8 1/4″ cake pan instead of 9″…I don’t think it needed more than a few minutes added onto the cooking time suggested. Check your cake about 5 minutes before it’s supposed to be done. The line between underbaked and overbaked is a fine one with this cake. I will say that it is probably a good idea to add parchment paper to the bottom of your pan. Despite the buttering and flouring I still managed to half destroy my cake trying to get it out. It is quite delicate. Good thing it still tastes delicious!

raspberrycake