This is one of those hybrid recipes that had me wondering, why have I never seen this before?

I am a huge fan of both zucchini bread and corn bread. I can eat both in embarrassing quantities. And both are pretty foolproof. The zucchini acts as extra protection from dreaded dry cornbread syndrome, and it keeps well in the fridge for a few days (best toasted with butter). You can tell how anxious I was to start eating this while it was still warm from the oven given that this is the closest I got to a good picture. Oof.

If you’re hitting the end of the summer with a surplus of zucchini (for those of you lucky enough to have space for a garden), or if, like me, you are a sucker for a quick bread, try this one.

The weather has been shockingly pleasant this past week in New York, and it’s feeling like fall is around the corner. It’s just starting to cool down enough at night to warrant a sweater, and the humidity has backed off considerably. So of course, I’m dreaming of fall ingredients. I bet this bread would be delicious with another savory vegetable, like yams, or you could add some spices and a bit more sugar and take it to the sweet side with apples or pears (and pecans!). I have to admit, although I complain virtually without pause about the New York weather, I do appreciate living somewhere that has real seasons. The transitions from one to the next form natural chapters out of life, and I have a feeling it’s going to be an exciting fall.

The recipe can be found on epicurious. I reduced the amount of sugar by about a 1/4 c. but made no other modifications.

And keep an eye out for more Skillshare classes coming up too!